Young Entrepreneur cooking up an Idea: Cameron Courtwright Catering to the Customer

Cameron Courtwright (13), a MADE Competition Competitor and UCM Business Camp Graduate

Cameron Courtwright (13), a MADE Competition Competitor and UCM Business Camp Graduate

With a rich backstory, a creative name, and an impressive demeanor, few 13 year olds can knock you on your feet like Cameron Courtwright can. Warrensburg, Missouri hosted a summer business camp to cultivate young entrepreneurs and Courtwright is a powerful example of the amount of passion and ideal that can flow from a body fresh out of camp. “I have wanted to be a restaurant owner since I was a small child.” says Courtwright, “I like to cook and I like people.  I have been saving recipes and collecting mugs since I was around eight.” Courtwright came to the business camp hosted by the Small Business Technology and Development Center and the University of Central Missouri with a brief idea of what he wanted to do, “This camp has shown me how to run my business, from advertising and business skills to ideas for businesses in the future.  The camp has given me the opportunity to look at catering on demand now from my home, rather than waiting until I am old enough to own a full restaurant.”

After camp was finished, Courtwright looked to continue his idea, Mug’s Catering. I just knew, a student who can be quoted with saying, “Success to me is turning a profit and providing good customer service.” is really a student worth mentoring. Courtwright is a strong contender who will be competing at the Missouri State Fair as part of the MADE competition hosted by the Missouri Valley Community Action Agency on August 12, 2014.

One response to “Young Entrepreneur cooking up an Idea: Cameron Courtwright Catering to the Customer

Leave a Reply

